Fool is hurt (concerto for piccolo and ensemble)

Holt, S. (2015) Fool is hurt (concerto for piccolo and ensemble). [Composition]

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


Concerto for solo piccolo and ensemble. Duration: 15 minutes. "1. A Fool dancing / 2. entr'acte / 3. Somnambular Fool / 4. Fool's ghost / At the end of La Strada, one of Federico Fellini's earliest films, Gelsomina witnesses the accidental death (at the hands of Zampano, the street performer and her boss) of El Matto (the fool). For the rest of the film she says only 'Fool is hurt'. / For Cecil Collins, the Fool embodies a kind of pure, spiritual innocence. In his book 'The Vision of the Fool' , Collins explains that he sees the Fool as the touchstone to creativity and inspiration. 'The saint, the artist, and the poet are all one in the Fool, in him they live, in him the poetic imagination of life lives." © Simon Holt

Item Type: Composition
Additional Information: Premiered on the 6th of November, 2016, by Caitlyn Valovick Moore (piccolo) and the Musica Nova Ensemble, conducted by Thierry Fischer, at the Abravanel Hall, Salt Lake City, Utah.
Uncontrolled Keywords: contemporary, classical, composition, concerto
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Division: Composition
Depositing User: Andrew Chen
Date Deposited: 10 Jul 2017 10:48
Last Modified: 28 Mar 2019 17:39

Actions (login required)

Edit Item Edit Item