In ictu oculi - Three Meditations for Wind Ensemble

Hesketh, Kenneth (2015) In ictu oculi - Three Meditations for Wind Ensemble. [Composition]

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


For wind ensemble (3.3.EbClt,3, Bs Clt. 2, Cbsn/4.4.3.Euph.2/ Harp; Piano (=Celesta) Timp. 3 Perc./ String Bass)). Duration: 17 minutes. "In Ictu Oculi (in the blink of an eye), is part of a current cycle of works that have the idea of Momento Mori, or Vanitas and memorial, at their centre. / This work is an extended meditation upon the transience of time and disintegration of cultures, individuals and civilisations. The notion of journey is important in this work and the formal architecture it employs utilises metaphors of labyrinth (a single, but convoluted through-route) and maze (a pathway with many branches, choices of path and dead-ends) in negotiating its musical structures. / The work runs continuously without a break, though it is articulated by the following titled sections: / Ubi sunt qui ante nos fuerunt? [Where are those who were before us?] / Stele I [A marker stone, slab or column decorated with figures or commemorative inscriptions, common in prehistory] / Ozymandian fallacy / Stele II / Timor mortis conturbat me [the fear of death dismays me]." © Kenneth Hesketh

Item Type: Composition
Additional Information: Premiered on the 9th of April, 2016, at the Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, RCM London, by the National Youth Wind Ensemble, conducted by Philip Scott.
Uncontrolled Keywords: contemporary, classical, composition, national youth wind ensemble, nywe, wind ensemble, symphonic band, wind band
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > Music
Division: Composition
Depositing User: Andrew Chen
Date Deposited: 10 Jul 2017 10:48
Last Modified: 10 Jul 2017 10:48

Actions (login required)

Edit Item Edit Item