Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

Lawson, C. (1998) Brahms: Clarinet Quintet. Cambridge music handbooks . Cambridge University Press, Cambridge. ISBN 9780521581936 (hardback) 9780521588317 (paperback)

9780521581936.jpg - Cover Image

Download (57kB) | Preview


On its first appearance in 1891, Brahms' Clarinet Quintet was immediately recognised as a remarkable achievement, and a century later it still has the power to claim the hearts and minds of players and audiences alike. Widely regarded as Brahms' supreme achievement in the field of chamber music, the Clarinet Quintet is here placed in the context of the history of the clarinet and its repertory, and of Brahms' own compositions before 1891. The influence of the Meiningen clarinet virtuoso Richard Mühlfeld unleashed a new vein of creativity in Brahms, and this forms a basis for discussion, together with questions of performance practice (in relation to both clarinet and string quartet) and the legacy of Brahms' clarinet music. These chapters are complemented by a comprehensive analysis of the music.

Item Type: Book
Uncontrolled Keywords: Brahms, Clarinet Quintet, historical context, performance practice, music analysis
Subjects: Music aesthetics
Music History
Division: Musicology
Depositing User: Ms Katharine Liley
Date Deposited: 05 Sep 2019 15:42
Last Modified: 15 Oct 2019 16:05

Actions (login required)

Edit Item Edit Item